The series in its twelfth season had a large ensemble of sixteen actors, including four from the original cast.On March 3, 2016, ABC renewed Grey's Anatomy for a thirteenth season, scheduled to premiere on September 22, 2016.Grey's Anatomy is one of the highest-rated dramas in the 18–49 demographic.

Ellen Pompeo Sandra Oh Katherine Heigl Justin Chambers T. Parriott Jeannine Renshaw Jeff Rafner Joan Rater Kent Hodder Krista Vernoff Mark Gordon Mark Wilding Marti Noxon Nancy Bordson Peter Horton Rob Corn Stacy Mc Kee Steve Mulholland Tony Phelan William Harper Zoanne Clack Ann Kindberg Austin Guzman Elisabeth R. Stanton Harry Werksman Jeff Rafner Linda Klein Mark Foreman Mimi Schmir Peter Norwalk Stacy Mc Kee Tammy Ann Casper William Harper Zoanne Clack Grey's Anatomy is an American medical drama television series that premiered on American Broadcasting Company (ABC) as a mid-season replacement on March 27, 2005.

Isaiah Washington Patrick Dempsey Kate Walsh Sara Ramirez Eric Dane Chyler Leigh Brooke Smith Kevin Mc Kidd Jessica Capshaw Kim Raver Sarah Drew Jesse Williams Camilla Luddington Gaius Charles Jerrika Hinton Tessa Ferrer Caterina Scorsone Kelly Mc Creary Jason George Martin Henderson Giacomo Gianniotti Shonda Rhimes Allan Heinberg Betsy Beers Debbie Allen James D.

The series focuses on the fictional lives of surgical interns, residents, and attendings as they gradually evolve into seasoned doctors, while trying to maintain personal lives and relationships.

The title is a play on Gray's Anatomy, a human anatomy textbook by Henry Gray.

Grey's Anatomy has been well received by critics, considered an impact on culture, the series has received numerous awards, and has also been included in various critics' top ten lists.

It is the recipient of the 2007 Golden Globe Award for Best Television Series — Drama, and multiple Emmy nominations, including two for Outstanding Drama Series.

The show has produced several specials, as well as distributed all seasons to DVD, and released a collection of merchandise.

The show's premise originated with Shonda Rhimes, who serves as an executive producer, along with Betsy Beers, Mark Gordon, Krista Vernoff, Rob Corn, Mark Wilding, and Allan Heinberg.

Although the show is set in Seattle at the fictional Grey-Sloan Memorial Hospital (Formerly Seattle Grace Mercy-West) it is primarily filmed in Los Angeles, California.

The show was originally titled Complications following the complicated medical procedures and personal lives of the cast. The series' original cast consisted of nine star billed cast members including Ellen Pompeo, Sandra Oh, Katherine Heigl, Justin Chambers, T. Knight, Chandra Wilson, James Pickens Jr., Isaiah Washington and Patrick Dempsey.

The series was created to be racially diverse, utilizing a color-blind casting technique. The cast has undergone major changes throughout the run of the show, with many major cast members leaving and being replaced by several new characters.